summer healing

 

I’ve created over twenty new short eco performance works on instagram, see above or click here > #beingwithtrees

Being with nature seems to be my theme this year- I was also asked to present this workshop with Jean P’ark, assisted by my boy Orion Twinkle (Ryan Backer)…

Ecosensensual Echos  @ Martin Gropius Bau

Screen Shot 2018-07-24 at 3.34.43 PMScreen Shot 2018-07-24 at 3.34.30 PM

There were three chances to experience plant based ASMR at Gropius Bau as part of Welt ohne Außen: Workshops, curated by Isabel Margarita Lewis. This workshop was an opportunity to hear and create beautiful noises as well as relax.

Informationen auf Deutsch hier: https://bit.ly/2LJXbA3

Coral and Jean will empower you to create sonic sanctuaries. We will begin with an opening circle. Then we will guide a relaxing and grounding sound meditation. This will be followed by group ASMR* performed by Jean and Coral. This experience is sonic massage for the parasympathetic nervous system of the body, which allows relaxation and slows many high energy functions. Different sound combinations and noises create a multiplicity of feelings and healings via reverberations throughout the body. The participants will split into small groups to give and receive this sonic experience amongst each other. The group will have time to chat about the sensations of sound offerings afterwards. Then new groups will form to create fresh ecstatic sound experiences, with time for gentle feedback. At the end we will make space for larger group feedback about the effects of the sonic ecosensual experiences. To end this enjoyable experience Coral will lead a breathing meditation to ground us back into full body awareness, strengthening connection with the soundscapes of planet Earth.

*Autonomous Sensory Meridian Response (ASMR): a gentle euphoria brought on by soft interesting sounds.


In other exciting news, I was invited to a two day workshop about activism and art by Ponderosa matriarch Stephanie Maher and choreographer Meg Stuart with some very talented people to further the discussions for planning Tanzcongress 2018.

 

I also got to participate in the Survival Project – an interactive dance piece choreographed by Kristianne Salcines.

Screen Shot 2018-07-24 at 3.33.37 PM

I was also interviewed for an article in Artquest written by Lori Baldwin that you can read here

 

I have been working in different realms lately – a lot to do with my meditation practice which informs my art practice in deep ways. This has included leading meditations all summer: in Sweden, Berlin, and Brandenburg. I am slowing down and healing from head injuries from my last concussion with the help of healers Shannon Cooney, Tender Bender and Isabella Lennert. I’ve been gardening a ton at Taubenblau, which my head and body love to do- and sometimes my queer family gets to stay in the mansion there with me, which is fun.

Two people have made films about me lately 🙂 …

James Velo made a difficult and beautiful movie about how afab artists survive in Berlin, which stars me and my collaborator Alex Tsoli.

Henry Wilde also made a movie with me based on Gilles Deleuze from A to Z. It has me telling a very wide range of life stories from my train hopping, circus, and squatting days. Neo Hulcker did the wonderful sound in it and Twinkle was on the camera.

Screen Shot 2018-07-24 at 4.26.10 PM

In other news, I will be moving back to Canada most of the year with 1/3 of the year still living back in Berlin. I love my Berlin communities so very much, but I love free Canadian health care even more!

To celebrate coming home I’ll be performing FAKE ORGASM CHOIR at Phenomena Festival in October in Montreal, so I’ll be looking for participants. Reach out if you are local and interested to work with me coralshort at gmail dot com

coral noses2

Lastly, I am creating a performance art event based around the senses as a fundraiser for Sensorium on August 17 in Berlin with friends. More details on this here.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment