VANCOUVER NEW YORK DRESDEN CHARLOTTETOWN CHICAGO LONDON MONTREAL BERLIN

VANCOUVER QUEER ARTS FESTIVAL

These photos below are of my performance ‘Stop Beating Yourself Up‘ are painful to look at now! I suffered a severe concussion from my performance at The Vancouver Queer Arts Festival which I am still recovering from 6 months later. Thank you for all the healing vibes everyone sent to me from across the world.  Contrary to popular belief, the blood was fake and I didn’t hit myself hard BUT it was the multiple light blows to the head that did me in. Don’t do this at home folks! Photos below by Belle Ancell. More photos can be seen here by Katie Stewart and Fenner Rumble.  Please stop beating yourselves up! For real! I have! This performance will never be repeated ever again.  Thank you to Winnie Superhova for assisting me and Hugs for being my paramedic and huge hugs to Terry my platonic brosband and Ray Tardigrade for aftercare.

11807287_10153747936012345_732306211479044351_o

 

 

11026243_10153747935452345_5596551963295162709_o

 

In Vancouver I was delighted to put together TRIGGER WARNING. This was a challenging and transformative experience as a curator. I created a strong bill of mostly North American video artists followed by a discussion facilitated by Gwen Haworth. Graphic Design by Nabeela Vega.

11084212_10153560489897345_1069492729789807000_o

Check out my hyper talented artists:

Claire Arctander
Isabelle Frances McGuire
Vika Kirchenbauer
Jade Yumang
Jesika Joy
Sarah HillCreighton Baxter
Patty Chang
Morgan M Page
Kimura Byol
Jenny Lin
Philip Huang
Jacqueline Mary
Eduardo Restrepo
Mée Rose & Leanne Lapspace

 

CHICAGO

It was my first time in Chicago! I had the joy of creating a new wearable textiles work entitled Chimeras for the Out of Site Chicago Festival. I also had the honour of working with fellow performance artists Emilio Rojas, Mev Luna and dancer Lailye Weidman. I was assisted by my good friend Nabeela Vega who helped me incredibly as my concussion was still very strong.

ART IN THE OPEN

10945655_10153829566957345_4234110955007951841_n

Ice Dreams:  Coral Short, Jackson Martin and Russell Louder collaborated to create fresh cool contemporary edible art infused with spells – inventing several kinds of ice cream to feed the public within this town is small project‘s marketplace. The ice cream was bursting with a fascinating range of mood changing ingredients. Making wishes is an act of magic that we invited the audience to partake in – creating a sense of hope and well-being. View photos here taken by Veronique Mystique. Graphic design by Nabeela Vega. Thanks to Juls Generic for letting us create an ice cream factory in Halifax!

At this extraordinary festival Art in the Open in P.E.I. I did three performances in one day (plus handing out 500 portions of Ice Dreams which I have to say with the concussion was a miracle!) My teenage assistant Russell Louder performed Plush and I live streamed it internationally with Periscope. Big ups to  my curator Becka Viau who was wonderful to me throughout the festival. I cannot recommend this festival enough!

plush

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I collaborated for Scream Choir AND Laugh Choir with Sarah Wendt. Thank goodness for collaborations! Huge thanks to my collaborators as I couldn’t of pulled off four performance without them!

HAMILTON

In Hamilton I performed Nest (with a concussion) at Supercrawl. Huge thanks to my assistants Mee Rose and Alvis Parsley for performing Plush for me as my doctor would not allow me to perform. And huge shout out to my platonic wife Sarah Fuchs for coming out from Toronto to give me love and moral support.

ARTIST RESIDENCY

For the month of October I did a ceramics residency at Creations Li Studio. It was such a healing experience because I was off the internet and working with clay was very good for my brain. Also the company was AMAZING 😉

DRESDEN GERMANY

Future Visions was one of the two pieces selected by our curators from Les Htmlles last year to travel to the CYNETART FESTIVAL in Dresden Germany. New sparkles now when you move the mouse! and a special one card spread for mobile phones all thanks to my genius collaborator Angela Gabereau.

FV1

FUTURE VISIONS ALSO IN OTHER WORLDS ZINE

Hand screen printed by Vanessa Adams

980832_10154065473502345_7370956281221199459_o

MIX NYC

I curated Love is Like the Weather at Mix and I have to say I am very proud of this bill. It has morphed through time and runs tight and smooth now. It was incredible to have so many talented filmmakers up on the stage with me doing Q & A. I am honoured to work with these contemporary video art superstars:  Raphaële Frigon, lamathilde, GAYMOUS, Shayo Detchema, Nabeela Vega , Vincent Chevalier, Malic Amalya, Nikki Forrest, Dayna McLeod and Jackie Gallant, Sofia Moreno, Elisha Lim and Raven Davis, Rae Spoon & Chelsea McMullan, larose s. larose, Eduardo Restrepo Castaño & Nash Glynn, Joshua Vettivelu, Kristin Li, and M. O’Herlihy. Many of the artists got scouted by other curators which I am thrilled by. In more miraculous news this bill is being brought into the university classroom for Gender and Performance at Concordia University in April taught by D.J. Fraser and the students’ final exam will be based on these ground breaking filmmakers!!!

❤ BACK TO CHICAGO ❤

I am so in love with Chicago and had two shows in December there ON THE SAME DAY which was unbelievable! Arrangement screened at curation put on by Video Video Zine

 

Nabeela Vega and I performed our new piece entitled YOU curated by Duos by means of the Periscope ap projected onto Nabeela’s body. This event was curated by Mothergirl and  Anja Morell at the Co-Prosperity Sphere. Vega and I slowly fed each other rose petals through the screen – celebrating one year of platonic love. We have been there for each other through many life occurrences and continue to stand side by side, strong in our platonic romance.

12339593_10154028307572345_4562529848548746898_o

12291112_10153659648766327_9023183173467763939_o

BERLIN TIMES

I am living part time in Berlin now and am curating monthly film screenings. If you think you have anything to offer to these programs: FEMININITY, MAGIC, TRANSFORMATION and EXCESS please do! April – September bills still have some space.

The first bill in the series will be the TRIGGER WARNING bill January 29 and the second bill will be QUEER FUTURES curated out of  the Future Visions project on February 26. I have always wanted to show some of my favourite future visions so I am very excited to present this bill. These first two bills will be hosted by the magical  BERLIN COVEN.

For the PLEASUREPAIN

bill in March at Silver Future I am pleased to announce filmmakers Jacqueline Mary and Mee Rose will be in attendance for Q & A.

I am doing my first performance ever at the Kopi’s Queer Gala – the most wild and radical queer cabaret in Berlin on February 25. I am collaborating with Aubrey Heichemer who I have known for 5 years back when we lived in the Bay Area together. She has the skillset to conduct for our new project… and strangely everyone we have asked to be in our FAKE ORGASM CHOIR is up for it! People are less shy than I thought. This piece will be dedicated to sex workers.

 

This entry was posted in art in the open, coral short, curation, magic spells, mev luna, montreal art, nabeela vega, out of site, performance art, performance art festival, queer artists, queer arts festival, residency, sarah wendt, scream choir, video art, video curation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

